CAMERON RUSSELL

I am a MODEL, WRITER, and ORGANIZER. My work leverages CREATIVE COLLABORATION and COLLECTIVE STORYTELLING to facilitate evolution.

 
04.jpg

COMMUNITY STORYTELLING 

/COLLECTIVE NARRATIVES SHIFT POWER

 

model mafia

Some of the most exciting work we’re doing with Model Mafia (the community of over 200 models working toward a more equitable, just, sustainable industry and world) is about performance. How can we make images and tell stories in mainstream media that celebrate the collective? What does it look like to showcase community over single celebrities? In a radical portfolio in Porter Magazine we got to run FOUR COVERS featuring 17 leaders, and take group shots featuring even more leadership. See the story here.

COLLABORATORS // 1 Kouka Webb Advocate for climate justice @iamkouka2 Hartje Andresen Campaigner for environmental reform @iamhartje3 Meisha BrooksChampion of models’ rights @meishabrooks4 Maya Monès Campaigner for trans and non-binary models @br0nz3_g0dd3ss5 Dominyka Gajauskaite Sustainability activist @dominykag6 Austria Aulloa Campaigner for diversity in the fashion industry @austriaulloa7 Jess Perez Advocate for fair pay in fashion @jesslperez8 Katharina Rembi Sustainability activist @katharinarembi9 Naomi ShimadaAdvocate for model diversity @naomishimada10 Leyna Bloom Campaigner for trans models @leynabloom11 Renee Peters Sustainability activist @renee.elizabethpeters12 Zuzanna Krzatala Activist for immigrant and refugee rights @zubizubizu13 Jessica Jones Campaigner for environmental awareness @jessica__jones14 Brana Dane Champion of animal rights and veganism @branadane15 Briana Holmer Advocate for holistic health @brianaholmer16 Trinelle Bartholomew Advocate for racial and gender justice @trinelle_bartholomew17 Gelila Bekele Campaigner for the education of young women @gelila.bekele18 Cleo Abram Campaigner for sustainability reform @cleoabram19 Kaye Li Taylor Part of the Model Alliance @kayelitaylor20 Ewa Budka Advocate for womens’ rights @ewabudka21 Nimue Smit Ambassador for the Model’s Health Pledge @nimuesmit22 Inga Eiriksdottir Campaigner for model diversity @ingaerla23 Erin WilliamsChampion of childbirth education @erin_doulight24 Helen Henderson Campaigner for environmental awareness @helen.s.henderson25 Chloe Hayward Campaigner for reform in the fashion industry @chloeahayward26 Áine Rose Campbell Co-founder of Model Mafia @ainerosecampbell27 Cameron Russell Co-founder of Model Mafia @cameronrussell28 Alyssa Daugherty Founder of Cahootz Model Community @miss.alyss.oc29 Shivani Persad Host of podcast More Than Model @liveshiv30 Sinead Bovell Founder of WAYE @sineadbovell31 Emilyne Mondo Advocate for social reform @emilynemondo32 Summer Rayne Oakes Campaigner for environmental justice @homesteadbrooklyn33 Ebonee Davis Activist for the representation of black models @eboneedavis34 Kenza Fourati Campaigner for ethical design @kenzafourati

Photography: CARLOTA GUERERRO

Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 7.35.33 AM.png

#MakeTheseWomenFamous

You might not recognize their names and faces yet, but the women in this series, are fighting to save the world. If we survive climate change, their names will be celebrated, they will have delivered us through our most challenging time. As part of this campaign the portraits, bios, and handles for these leaders were shared with over 100 million people on instagram through the accounts of currently famous women.

COLLABORATORS //

HINDOU OUMAROU IBRAHIM, ACHALA ABEYSINGHE, CHRISTIANA FIGUERES, DESSIMA WILLIAMS, LAURENCE TUBIANA, KATHY JETNIL-KIJINER, FARHANA YAMIN, RACHEL KYTE, MAY BOEVE, PRISCILLA ACHAKPA, ELIZABETH YEAMPIERRE, AMINA MOHAMMED, MINDY LUBBER

Photography: INEZ & VINOODH

Director: DAMANI BAKER




smaller-interruptbook.gif

interrupt magazine

Interrupt was the first participatory magazine of its kind. A new editor-in-chief and editorial staff took  over each issue. By resourcing storytellers, with a focus on youth marginalized and misrepresented by mainstream media, with the assets of a magazine -- office space, editors, graphic designers, photographers, filmmakers, and artists -- we co-created content that delighted, intrigued, and inspired our audience.

The project was born after hundreds of women responded to an open letter Cameron Russell wrote asking, “What would you say if you had access to mass media?”  after her TED talk on privilege and access to media went viral . Through this new project, the New York Times reported, Interrupt hopes to "share the press with some women who really are doing fantastic things" -- offering the limelight to people who wouldn't necessarily be offered it otherwise -- and the results, reports CNN, are “changing the conversation.”

smaller-WATYbook.gif

we are the youth

We partnered with frequent collaborator, photographer Laurel Golio, and her journalist partner Diana Scholl, in order to amplify their existing online effort We Are The Youth, a photographic journalism project chronicling the individual stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth in the United States. The project addresses the lack of visibility of LGBT young people by providing a space to share stories in an honest and respectful way. We helped them determine an innovative and provocative presentation of stories, informed by our experience navigating new media, zine culture and mainstream media formats. We believe there is world-changing potential in sharing the stories of LGBT and queer youth to a large audience in a widely accessible format.

"WE ARE THE YOUTH BRILLIANTLY ILLUSTRATES THE COMPLEXITY, BEAUTY, AND DIVERSITY OF LGBT YOUTH. THIS BOOK CAPTURES THE HEART AND SOUL OF WHAT IT MEANS TO NEGOTIATE SEXUALITY AND GENDER IDENTITY IN TODAY'S WORLD."   

-Danah Boyd, It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens

"THIS IS SUCH AN AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL AND TIMELY BOOK." 

-Jacqueline Woodson, Miracle's Boys

 
 

creative collaboration

Artists and cultural workers challenge overly-determined analyses of power derived from scarce resources like wealth, political office, race, gender, age, and education. They provide an alternative, creative toolkit to build sustainable, democratic communities using abundant resources. Often they are first responders to complex social issues whose resolutions are rarely on the horizon. The projects they lead are replicable, sustainable, impactful, and engaged. Their work can illuminate sites of hope.

 
 
 
 
01.jpg

In order to construct thoughtful powerful collective narratives we must provide resources, build networks, and collaborate with artists and creatives who are: 

  • “Emerging” : May have a robust online following but are unknown to mainstream media 

  • “In Need” : Will tangibly benefit from additional exposure, resources, and networks

  • “Marginalized” : We prioritize collaborators who are women, people of color, LGBTQ, low-income and other marginalized individuals

  • “Balanced” : For every high-profile/well-connected artist taking part in a publication/exhibition/intervention, we also have an artist who is emerging/in need of support

Artists and cultural workers challenge overly-determined analyses of power derived from scarce resources like wealth, political office, race, gender, age, and education. They provide an alternative, creative toolkit to build sustainable, democratic communities using abundant resources. Often they are first responders to complex social issues whose resolutions are rarely on the horizon. The projects they lead are replicable, sustainable, impactful, and engaged. Their work can illuminate sites of hope.

Read my viral letter to the fashion industry about hiring diverse creatives

Go behind the scenes of our Spanish Vogue Portfolio by all women & gender expanding creatives